The President of India – Who’s Next for 2017

Featured Image - The President of India - Who's Next for 2017

The presidential election in India is on the verve these days. A Presidential Election will be held in India on 17 July, 2017 and five days before the incumbent of current President’s term expires, the counting will be done. The next President of India to be elected soon as the current President Sri. Pranab Mukherjee will complete his tenure on 25 July, 2017 as they were elected as the President of India in the year 2012 and started his tenure on 25 July, 2012. The tenure of the President of India is of Five years. As the huge winning of BJP in some of the previous elections, it can be guess for the next President of India to be of Bhartiya Janta Party.


Nominees for the President of India for 2017

Nominees has been started to choose who’ll participate in the Presidential Election. Some of the nominees are being called who has a higher chance to be the President. The names of them are

  1. Ram Nath Kovind (Governor of Bihar)
  2. Lal Krishna Advani

Probable Candidates for the President of India for 2017

Here is some of the names can be heard as probable candidates for the President of India for 2017. These are either entered themselves or their name is suggested for this roll.

  1. Lal Krishna Advani
  2. Ram Nath Kovind (Governor of Bihar)
  3. Murli Manohar Joshi (Could be affected due to Babri Mosque demolition case)
  4. Sumitra Mahajan (Lok Sabha Speaker)
  5. Sushma Swaraj (Minister of External Affairs)
  6. E Sreedharan
  7. Kariya Munda (Former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker)
  8. Draupadi Murmu (Governor of Jharkhand)
  9. Thawar Chand Gehlot (Minister of Social Justice)
  10. Rajinikanth
  11. Meira Kumar (Lok Sabha Speaker)
  12. Gopalkrishna Gandhi (Governor of West Bengal)
  13. Sharad Yadav (Rajya Sabha Member)
  14. Sharad Pawar (Union Minister)
  15. Karan Singh (Member of Parliament of Rajya Sabha)


List of President of India from the beginning

Below is the list of the entire president from beginning to till now. The Presidential system was started from 26 Jan, 1950, started by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India. Take a look at the list:

No. Name Tenure from Tenure up to
01 Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963) 26 Jan, 1950 13 May, 1962
02 Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) 13 May, 1962 13 May, 1967
03 Dr. Zakir Hussain (1897-1969) 13 May, 1967 03 May, 1969
04 Sri. V. V. Giri (1894-1980) 24 Aug, 1969 24 Aug, 1974
05 Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1905-1977) 24 Aug, 1974 11 Feb, 1977
06 Sri. N. Sanjeeve Reddy (1913-1996) 25 July, 1977 25 July, 1982
07 Giani Zail Singh (1916-1994) 25 July, 1982 25 July, 1987
08 Sri. R. Venkataraman (1910-2009) 25 July, 1987 25 July, 1992
09 Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918-1999) 25 July, 1992 25 July, 1997
10 Sri. K. R. Narayanan (1920-2005) 25 July, 1997 25 July, 2002
11 Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam (1931-2015) 25 July, 2002 25 July, 2007
12 Smt. Pratibha Devi Singh Patil (b. 1931) 25 July, 2007 25 July, 2012
13 Sri. Pranab Mukherjee (b. 1935) 25 July, 2012


These are thirteen Presidents who’ve worked successfully till now. Most of them had completed the tenure of five year but two of the Presidents, Dr. Zakir Hussain and Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed couldn’t completed their presidential period as they got died in office. Their vice-presidents functioned as acting president until a new president was elected. After the death of Zakir Hussain, two acting president held office were Varahgiri Venkata Giri and Muhammad Hidayatullah until the new president. Later, following the death of Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, the office of the president were held by Basappa Danappa Jatti.

(To be Updated)

Also checkout: Indian Politician – The Real Image

Author: Manish

Giving for people to get the exact truth and reality. Inspired by the reality and the power of truth, it’s been my idea to aware as many as I can about the truth and reality which is hidden or if can’t come forward. I’ve been researching for the exact related and genuine material for my post since a long.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *